The Path of the Pilgrims The Path of the Pilgrims
Rated /5 based on customer reviews
€ N/C
Select your language
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • Uttarakhand begins at the foothills and surges upwards to the heavenly snow clad peaks of the majestic Himalayas. It is a pivotal region for both religion and spiritually. Rishikesh, a small and quaint town sprawled across the banks of the River Ganges, is known as the ‘Yoga Capital of the World’. Haridwar is known as the ‘Gateway to the Gods’ as it marks the beginning of the journey of the four sacred pilgrimages in India.

    From April till October, thousands of pilgrims from the entire country descend to visit the four pilgrimage points, namely Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath and Badrinath. Hindus believe that anyone who pays homage to all four attains salvation and purges all of her/his sins.

    This majestic trek will take you on a spiritual journey, where you will trek through glaciers, mountain passes, pastures, forests, rice plantations and meadows. You will encounter several pilgrims in search of purity, colourful temples and shrines dotting the landscape and warm locals who will greet you with their weather beaten faces and wide grins.

    This will be a transcendental journey, where all the experiences will lead you to do some soul searching.

  • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

    For more informations, please contact us
    Fill in our quote request

Day 01 : Arrival in Delhi
Welcome at the airport you will be transfer to the hotel in the center of Delhi for overnight stay.

Day 02 : Delhi-Srinagar [340 kms -10/14H of road]
Departure in morning by road for Srinagar, first through the large plain of Gange then gradually in the mountains. Overnight stay in hotel.

Day 03 : Srinagar-Gaurikund (2000 m) [120kms - 6/8H of road]
Road for Gaurikund. Stop at the end of the road of Gaurikund (2000 m), path starting point, which leads to Kedarnath. Overnight stay in lodge or camping.

Day 04 : Gaurikund > Kedarnath (3550m) [6H of walk]
First day of trek. The way goes first through forest and then, wide areas. The view over the circus closed by the Kedarnath Peak (6970 m) is amazing, a beautiful gift for our accomplished effort. Camping.

Day 05 : Kedarnath (3550 m) [until 5H of walk, optional]
Day of exploration. Visit of Kedarnath temple. We will (for those who wish) walk around the site to admire the Chorobari Lake. For the most courageous, we will walk to Vasuki Tal, lake located at 4150 m.Camping.

Day 06 : Kedarnath > Gaurikund (2000m) [4H of walk]
After breakfast, slope down by the same way until Gaurikund. Overnight stay in Lodge or camping.

Day 07 : Gaurikund > Maggou (3250 m) [6/7H of walk]
A few km of road which lead us to Sonprayag, starting point of 7 days trekking.Quite significant slopes each day. For this first daylong slope up until Trijugi Narayan. Visit of the temple. We will continue the walk until the mountain pastures of Maggou. Camping.

Day 08 : Maggou > Panwali (3150 m) [5H of walk]
Slope up (3400 m) by an horizontal path then slope down towards the mountain pastures of Panwali. Camping.

Day 09 : Panwali > Ghuttu (1600 m) [6/7H of walk]
Climbing to the pass of Khinko-La (3500 m) and plunged into the Bhillongana, valley through meadows, then the tropical forest and finally, rice plantations with the accesses of the village of Ghuttu. Camping.

Day 10 : Ghuttu > Bhairon Chatti (2400 m) [5/6H of walk]
The trek begins with the crossing of farms, fields and many splendid villages, sheltering small dry stone temples. Camping at the top.

Day 11 : Bhairon Chatti > Buddha Kedar (1500 m) [5/6H of walk]
Slope down trough forest and then cultivated fields. Crossing of the Ball Ganga river.Camping close to the traditional village of Budha Kedar. We will visit the temple dedicated to Shiva.

Day 12 : Buddha kedar > Belak (2400 m) [6H of walk]
Climbing to the last pass of this first trek, mainly through forest. Slope down through cultures and some villages. Camping close to the village of Belak.

Day 13 : Belak > Malla (1500 m) [4H of walk] - Gangotri (3100 m) [80 kms, 4 to 6 H of road]
Slope down until Bhagirathi River. Re climbing to the village of Malla, end of the first trek. Transfer by vehicle to the temple of Gangotri. Overnight stay in lodge.

Day 14 : Gangotri > Bhujbasa (3800 m) [5H of walk]
Climbing in company of many pilgrims along Ganges until Cheerbasa (3600 m), surrounded by a beautiful pine forest . Continuation in direction of Bhujbasa. The barrier of Bhagirathi (5 sharp granite summits at more than 6500 m) blocks the horizon. Camping.

Day 15 : Bhujbasa > Tapovan (4400 m) [4/5H of walk]
The climbing continues in direction of Gaumukh (3900 m). Steep path on the moraines of the glacier of Gangotri. Around 4100 m, it is necessary to cross the glacier to gain the left bank. Follows a short slope to the meadows of Tapovan, ultimate goal of our tour.

Day 16 : Tapovan (4400 m) [until 5H of walk, optional]
Day of rest or exploration. We propose you an optional walk in direction of the base camp of Kedarnath Dome. Camping in Tapovan.

Day 17 : Tapovan > Gangotri (3100 m) [6/7H of walk]
Long slope down by the same path until Gangotri. We will cross many pilgrims on the way. Lodge or camping.

Day 18 : Gangotri - Uttarkashi [100 km - 4/6H of road] Relaxed morning. Road for Uttarkashi, small animated city, which extends till the Ganges edge. Many temples are disseminated in the city. Overnight stay in hotel.

Day 19 : Uttarkashi - Haridwar [150 km - 5/6H of road]
Road in direction of Haridwar. Discovery of the city and of its ghats. Overnight stay in hotel.

Day 20 : Haridwar - Delhi [240 km - 6H of road] Road for Delhi. Transfer and night in hotel un the center of Delhi.

Day 21 : Delhi - international airport
Free Day. Transfer in the evening to the international airport.

Source of Enq is :

Copyright ShantiTravel - 2016 - All Rights Reserved

Shanti Travel est noté 9.3/10 selon 240 avis voyageurs Trustpilot